So aggression from my daughter is very much a part of our daily lives but it is not something we often talk about because it seems like we are the only ones I know that are going through it. Most people cannot relate to what we are going through and it is extremely isolating. I have mentioned it a few times to various other people but it is one of those things I do not dwell very much on because again very few other people are going through what we are going through. It is isolating even in a community of other special needs families. You can relate so much to other special needs families on so many issues but this is one of those things that everyone I have come across so far is not dealing with, and we are so I just keep silent about it.
They say behavior is a form of communication but for the life of me I have no idea what she is trying to communicate. Is she sick, in pain, is she frustrated from her lack of communication? Who knows! It has been going on for about a year now so I think we can rule out sick or in pain since unless it is something chronic that we have yet to find it would not be that. The aggression also seems to pop out of nowhere so it is very hard to link it to any one thing. No one is really safe from her, if you are near her and she can get to you she will hit you or pull your hair.
Of course she is not constantly aggressive. There are a lot of times when she could be sitting next to you as nice as can be and that is probably the case 80 percent of the time, but that other 20 percent, watch out! We usually have several instances per day of aggressive behavior, her father and I seem to be her favorite targets.
We have looked into why she does it or what she gets out of it and the only thing we can come up with is she gets excited about the reaction that people have to her aggression. We have tried to minimize our reactions and that has helped to some degree, but when you are dealing with aggression against another kid you cannot really tell them to minimize the reaction.
So that brings me to why this is on my mind today. My daughter has social skills group once a week. At pick up the person in charge pulls me aside for a "talk" Great here it comes! So she said that she had pulled another kids hair today and that they are a program with a 2 to 1 ratio and that they just cannot have those kids of behaviors there. So hearing this I immediately get upset, I mean I completely understand that they need to keep their other kids safe but if you cannot deal with her then who will. It is like she has so many things that she needs help with and this is the only program like it in the area so where do we turn if they cannot let her participate in it. She was on the waiting list for a year just trying to get in and as far as I know there are no other groups like it. This also was not our first warning, she has only been there about 6 weeks and this is warning number 2. The first warning was a little bit different, she picked up one of those googly eyes and was chewing on it. We got the same warning that time, we are only a 2 to 1 ratio program if she has Pica then she cannot be here. What! She picked up one googly eye and chewed on it, that does not really constitute Pica.
We have also had issues with our new therapy place and her behaviors. The place that we were going to closed down so now we are at a new place for our speech, occupational, and physical therapies. On our very first day there the occupational therapist was doing her assessment of Elizabeth and happen to see her pulling my hair. Elizabeth always gets really anxious in new places and usually takes that out on me. I will not make excuses for her behaviors they are what they are and they happen but there is little that I can do about it. So the OT says that if she has behaviors like that we cannot help her here. So again I am hearing this, your child has behaviors and we do not want to deal with a child who has those behaviors. I wanted to say well if you cannot help her then who can, but I was too upset and usually when I get that way I clam up and do not say anything. I will also mention that after the other place closed they are now the only place around offering therapies. I did eventually get up the courage to ask if they cannot help her who can they recommend that can and her response was that maybe she should not have therapy.
So that brings me to today and what is stewing around in my head. If a child has deficits the only way to try to correct those is to have therapies and other life skills taught to her, but what do you do if everywhere you are turning says your child is too much to handle. Do you just give up? Does your child just stay at the level she is at forever? How can I ever expect my daughter to succeed if she is not given the tools to do so? They offer all of these great services for kids with Autism but if your child does not fall into what their idea of Autism looks like you are suddenly black listed. How do I get her to try to be a functional adult if in childhood no one wants to help her or deal with her. I realize some of that responsibility falls to me but I am sort of out of my element in this.
Autism and aggression is extremely isolating. It is like you are already alone when you have a child with special needs but now you are even more alone even among "your people" because you feel like you are the only one dealing with this. Where do you turn when their behaviors are out of control and you are at a loss as to how to deal with them? How do you ever get a break from your child when you cannot leave them with anyone for fear of the aggression.
So I guess that is where we are not now. I will keep fighting for her to get services that she needs. I get caught off guard when they bring it up to me, even when I am sort of expecting it, hearing it is still upsetting. The constant anxiety of worrying if she will have services or not eats away at me. We finally come up and get services in place after waiting and then we are constantly being threatened that they will be taken away. It is like someone dangling a carrot in front of you and just when you reach it they pull it away. The worst part is that I cannot control the behaviors that she is having and they tell me about it and I have no answers for them as to what they should do. Its like this is your area of expertise, shouldn't you be coming up with some solutions? I guess not, because again we are the black sheep of the Autism world so I guess that means we are easily discarded.